Nothing has happened yet.

Nothing has happened yet.
That is what I like best
about the quiet of the morning.

Some days I spend those
precious moments making
a list for the rest of the day.

But then I’m already in the next
hour, next day, next week.

So I take the time, whenever
I can, to just listen. Even the
click of the keys as I write this

seems less hurried than it will
when I toss out the first “High Priority”
CC: of the week. And so I listen,

and breathlessly hum a hymn
to the stillness.

Leave a Reply

