Country Song #137

I know the way to Nashville
by heart.

I don’t know it like a native,
sure only know it as someone who remembers
it in a certain freeze-frame.

So when I drive in and see the cranes
(the kind that build skyscraping condos, not the kind that land on them)
dance across the horizon, as people pretend
this is different from Atlanta

I am less disoriented than puzzled
More like a backup singer or television extra
No cue cards for me, no understudy.

I just drive past the place that used to
sell all souvenirs for $1.00, that now sells
the best sushi in town, merge into the roundabout
circling with all the rest of the chorus, driving
One more time around for Nashville, before they tear it down

Leave a Reply

