Flint

I woke up today and made
coffee, the clip and flow
of the water filter so
painfully slow it nearly
lulled me back to sleep.

I broke in my new running
shoes by breaking my Wednesday
best for speed and distance.
I gulped down a bottle of ice
that melted so quickly I nearly
forgot that it had been cold.

Dizzy with sweat, I turned
up the volume so I’d hear
the television in
The shower. The mirror steamed
too quickly, the water so
soft it took forever to feel
my favorite sort of clean.

I’ve always thought the
drinking glass philosophy to be
the best way to live. Despite
its annoyances, I think I
had a half-full sort of day

And still a woman on television
grits a smile and has the nerve
to tells me that half a country away
one town’s glass wasn’t even half-empty.
It was clearly full, and yet that
was somehow something far worse.

Leave a Reply

