Deadline

With just a few minutes before midnight
I have to decide what to write

When I have a deadline, I’m usually quite productive, but I’ve been up since 4,

and I chose today several tasks that reminded me of a couple of past lives, reminded me just what sort of construction paper seems to be at the base of my present life, and reminded me that tomorrow, we’ll still have leftovers.

Well, this isn’t much, but it’s something. A two minute memoir, one might say. I do think, however, that the “Past/Present, and tomorrow we’ll still have leftovers” line might develop into a good joke–perhaps dialogue–or perhaps a good line to even out some prose that is turning too melancholy.

Leave a Reply

