borrowed

Pried windows open
each night I read your novel
and pull my heart tight

when the fog settles
I slide the open door closed
and make up my mind

Notes: This is an adaptation of two writing exercises to make a short entry for an already writing-intensive day.  I think Haiku is good for getting out of one’s “logical head” and creating good imagery.  I also like to take a starting line from someone else’s story to use as a prompt and see where I end up.  This sort of combines the two.  I selected three line from the first verses of three different songs in my iTunes collection (St. Vincent’s “Regret,” Ryan Adams’s “Cherry Lane” and The Decemberists’ “The Crane Wife 1&2”) to write a first Haiku, then wrote a second one as a companion piece.

Leave a Reply

